Good Vibes for Anita Sarkeesian

Anita Sarkeesian, the woman behind the Feminist Frequency youtube channel and winner of the Game Developers’ Choice Ambassador Award, has reportedly been driven from her house due to serious threats made against her.

What the hell?!

When I read the article I immediately started crying. I feel so sick. This is absolutely horrifying.

Sarkeesian’s youtube videos deal largely in deconstructing video game culture. Her series Tropes Vs. Women in Video Games (I linked to one of the videos recently) is widely known and has earned her a lot of well-deserved fame and respect, but it has also led to her recieving a lot of abuse and hatred. Nearly all of her Youtube videos are closed for comment, and it’s easy to see why.

There will always be close-minded, hateful individuals hiding behind computer screens so long as the internet exists. It seems to be that it’s just a fact of life, and maybe one that we’ll never be able to change. But what we can, and should be able to change, is that so much of this hateful behavior is aimed toward high-profile women.

I’ve looked up to Anita Sarkeesian as a role model and a hero before I was even old enough to fully understand the importance of the work she does. It’s practically impossible to be a “Gamer Girl,” let alone one who so boldly speaks her opinions. I think Sarkeesian is incredibly brave to do what she does, especially in the face of so much hatred.

Things like this are a perfect example of why, even though it may sometimes appear to be on the surface, the work of feminism and social justice as a whole is so far from done. I hope that, in some small way, I’m doing my part with this blog. And, as I know others will too, I will continue to do my part for as long as I possibly can.

Leave a Reply

