Carrie and The Phantom of the Opera

This is really random, and I’m sure I’m not the first person to think of this, but I was recently watching the old version of Carrie and the 2004 adaptation of Phantom and the parallels between them hit me.

Both titular characters are social outcasts.

Both titular characters have mothers who abused then as children, and both were abused as children (at least, if you’re going off some adaptations of Phantom).

Both movies involve themes of womanhood and the growth of sexual maturity, though they’re handled quite differently by each.

Both movies can be seen as coming of age tale concerning a teenage girl (though they’re both rather twisted, I personally think they both qualify).

Both movies also have running themes of the severe psychological toll ostracism can have on an individual.

Both movies’ titular characters finally think they achieve acceptance only to have it torn away from them (the pig’s blood dropping in Carrie and Christine ripping off the mask in Phantom), and for both characters it’s their final breaking point.

This was really random but it was just something I noticed recently. I’ve got a new post in the works but until then, have a great spring break to all those who are currently out of school, and happy almost-Easter to all those who celebrate 🙂

P.S. If there’s anything I missed (and I’m sure there is), let me know in the comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

