Build Your Walls

To my dad

These words that you sang
They used to mean so much to me
But now they have no melody
And now they mean nothing

And these walls that we built
We fought so hard to break them down
And before we even knew it
We’re building them back up again

I don’t really know about you
But I’m just getting so
Tired of it all
No, I don’t know about you
But I think you’re starting to get tired, too

These wars that we fought
Were they even worth it to you?
Because they sure as hell
Weren’t worth it to me

I used to hold your hand
And I loved the feeling of being held
Even when you grabbed
Tight enough to crush my fingers
What do I have to do
To make you hold me again?

I don’t know about you
But I am just so
Tired of it all
And I don’t know about you
But I think that you’re tired, too

I used to sit up on your shoulders
Knowing you would never let me fall
Yes, I could fall asleep on your shoulder
Knowing you would keep me safe from all
The things that wanted to hurt me

When did you start
Letting everything hurt me,
And why do I suddenly feel
Like you’re letting me fall?

These walls—these walls
We build them up
As we break them down
And it’s breaking me

So I think I’m going to let you build
Your walls alone

Leave a Reply

