What Happened?—an Unsent Letter

What happened to the man who I used to call daddy?

What happened to the man who would sing me to sleep at night? What happened to the man who would hold me when I was scared? What happened to the man who would stay with me until I fell asleep, keeping me safe from the monsters?

What happened to him?

What happened to the man who wanted to shelter me? What happened to the man who always asked if I had a boyfriend? Even though I hated it, I still miss it.

What happened to the man who would do anything to keep me safe from the big bad world? What happened to the man who would comfort me when I was crying, who would make stupid jokes to make me feel better?

Where did he go? I’m looking for him.

What happened to the man who used to mean the whole world to me? What happened to the man who loved to sing, loved to live, loved to love?

What happened to the man who was supposed to be my guardian? What happened to the man I was supposed to be able to count on?

Where did that man go, and who did he leave in his place?

What happened to my daddy?

Leave a Reply

